NEIMME Lectures

Everyone is welcome to attend the Institute’s free public lectures. Simply click on the links below to reserve your place.

Thursday 19th September 2019, 5:30pm for 6pm
Sub-surface Laser Scanning, Multi-beam Sonar Surveys and Void Surveys
Mark Hudson (Geoterra)

Thursday 17th October 2019, 5:30pm for 6pm
The Railway Revolution (and book launch)
Les Turnbull MNEIMME

Thursday 21st November 2019, 5:30pm for 6pm
Near Surface Geophysics as used in Geotechnical Site Investigations
Simon Hughes (TerraDat UK Limited)

Thursday 16th January 2020, 5:30pm for 6pm
Sirius Minerals North Yorkshire Polyhalite Project
Graham Clarke (Sirius Minerals)

Thursday 20th February 2020, 5:30pm for 6pm
Apollo 11 Remembered
Professor Grenville Holland

Thursday 19th March 2020, 5:30pm for 6pm
Steve Reece (Nirex)
Talk Title TBC

Thursday 16th April 2020, 5:30pm for 6pm
Sirius Minerals New Mine Project
Peter Hetherington (Sirius Minerals)

Thursday 21st May 2020, 5:30pm for 6pm
The Past, Present and Future of 3D Printing
Catriona Sellick (Durham University)

Thursday 18th June 2020, 5:30pm for 6pm
Joint meeting with the British Tunnelling Society (BTS)
Rod Young
Talk Title TBC


Links to Information and Slides from Previous Talks

Thursday 22nd November 2018, 18:30-19:30  

Slide Presentation – Dealing with coal mine waters in the North East – Taking a Long Term View

Ian Watson, Chartered Geologist working as Technical Lead – Water at the Coal Authority.


You might also be interested in…

Stephenson Locomotive Society
SLS Newcastle Website


Tyne Industrial Archaeology Group
TIAG Website


The Geological Society Northern Regional Group

GeolSoc Website

Comments are closed